That Time I Swam Through Molasses

Image result for bored meme

I think there was only one story this semester that I did not particularly enjoy, and that story was “The Snows of Kilimanjaro.” I wouldn’t say that it needs to be taken off of the reading list, but it was a difficult one to read.  It seemed very slow, and particularly annoying at times.  The main character’s flashbacks were confusing, and the author’s writing style was not my favorite.

There were plenty of stories that we experienced this semester that did not end happily (for example,  A Streetcar Named Desire), but I still was either able to take a valuable lesson away  from the story or the story was able to hold my attention.  Probably the only take away from this story was that pride can kill you, literally.  The bigger the pride, the greater the fall.  A good lesson… But there are plenty of stories that teach this in a much more fascinating way.

2 thoughts on “That Time I Swam Through Molasses

    • It wasn’t my favorite, but who knows…maybe I read it when I was tired (not too big of a stretch to assume;) and unable to fully appreciate it. Bender and some others really liked it and it did have some good thought-provoking moments… 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment